This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used.

Ok

bookCoverImage

Michael Sailstorfer

Reibungsverlust am Arbeitsplatz
Politics with Art History
SKU: 
D6104
Editors: 
Freundeskreis Museum Kurhaus, Koekkoek-Haus Kleve e.V., Rochester Art Center
Release Date: 
February 2015
Format: 
24 x 30 cm
Features: 
220 pages, approx. 140 color and b/w images, softcover
Product details: 
Published by Distanz
Language: 
German/English
ISBN: 
978-3-95476-104-3
Shop Price: €39.90
Catalog Price: 
€39.90 / $60.00 / £37.50
 
 

About This Book

The installations of Michael Sailstorfer (b. Velden/Vils, Germany, 1979; lives and works in Berlin) operate in the tradition of Marcel Duchamp and Joseph Beuys and continually test the limits of sculpture. The artist uses banal and everyday materials and objects – from honeydew melons to police cars – and arranges them in playful and entertaining new combinations. His reconstructed sculptures and expansive installations extend beyond the confines of visual perception; many even encourage the viewer to approach them through the sense of smell. The artist thus endows his works with messages that imply a critique of society; their central concern is the individual and his human and often all too human needs and desires.


The richly illustrated publication charts a compelling course through the labyrinth of questions Sailstorfer has explored with the means of sculpture between 2000 and 2014. With a preface by Harald Kunde and Shannon Fitzgerald, an interview by Melanie Bono, essays by Kris Douglas and Susanne Figner, as well as a dictionary of materials by Kito Nedo.

 

Related
Products

Michael Sailstorfer: S

Price: €39.90

Price: €39.90

Michael Sailstorfer: Forst

Price: €19.90

Price: €19.90

DE.FI.CIEN.CY

Andrzej Wróblewski, René Daniëls, Luc Tuymans
Price: €34.90

Price: €34.90